Oprah’s Big Give

So last night, I was watching Oprah’s big give with my mom.  If you don’t know, Oprah picked contestants from around the country and they compete to give big.  They are given I think $100,000 and are expected give big to someone in need of it.  After, the judges talk to the contestants about what they gave and to whom they gave it to.  After deliberation, the contestant goes home or stays.  At the end, whoever gives the most, wins $1,000,000.

When I watching last night, I thought about all the people in New Orleans that need help with their houses.  I wondered why people weren’t giving big to people down in New Orleans? They really need it.  They’ve lost their homes, their memories, and basically everything they owned.  This summer, it will be the third time to go to New Orleans and last year, I saw not a lot of change.  I see people trying to help people on TV for one person or one family, when yet there are hundreds of people who need it.  People need to step up and help.  I really think people need to wake up and see what’s really going on.

Yeah, so that’s all really have to say….I’m real excited for this summer! It’s going to be so much fun, fun, fun! yay!

-Rachel

3 Comments»

  Ben wrote @

I think part of the reason people arent giving big to New Orleans is just that people aren’t motivated to help very easily. I mean, Oprah is giving these people the money they donate, and is rewarding them for it with even more money. If you think about it, it’s kind of screwed up that they are turning charity into a competition.

-Ben

  Lori wrote @

i concur… with both Rachel and Ben,

and this summer will be fun 🙂 YAY!

  Colleen wrote @

I was reading you Oprah’s Big Give thing, and we should email Oprah and her people and see if we can arange something so they can do that in New Orleans, plus, we should see if we can publish a story about what we are doing in the newspaper, maybe the front page? I know it’s thinking big, but isn’t that what life is about, thinking big?


Leave a comment