Archive for March 20, 2008

five years

So today’s the day. 5 years ago today the Iraq War began. I remember going to a protest maybe a month before at my middle school. I made a sign that said “let exxon send it’s own soldiers” and walked around the school neighborhood. I knew then that the Iraq War was bad, but I had no idea why. Everyone else around me though so, so I thought so too.

Earlier this week, there was an article in the times that talked about how government strategists are predicting that today may be only the midpoint of the war. According to them, we could spend another five years in Iraq, and because these guys work for the government, it’s possible they’re just spinning the facts, and we could be in Iraq even longer.

My friend applied to Westpoint this year and he got in. In 4 years he’ll graduate from Westpoint, and he’ll be a soldier.

Today I know why the Iraq War is bad. It is bad because my friend, who saw the war start in middle school could be sent to fight it, and be put himself in harms way after he graduates from college.

-Ben